©  Photo:

Suggested tour - Helnæs bound

The most beautiful walk along the water!

The route description of the tour proposal

Start at Assens Harbour.

Assens Harbour

Take a stroll on Thorø, which, despite its name, is no longer an island but has become landlocked with Funen due to silting. A small bridge crosses a drainage canal from the Noret, situated further south. The island is renowned for its beautiful pristine nature and has an intriguing history, amusing buildings, and houses three colonies, available for rent for school camps, family parties, or similar. As the paths are very sandy, Thorø is only accessible on foot.


Continue to the village of Saltofte and then along Å Strandvej, which offers many excellent viewpoints over the Little Belt and numerous opportunities for beach walks. Across the Little Belt, Aarø can be seen at the entrance to Haderslev Fjord, further south glimpses of Aabenraa and further south still, Als and the Helnæs dam. There is a lovely bathing beach opposite the campsite.

Sønderby Klint

Sønderby Klint is an eldorado for stone collectors. The cliff is nearly 30 meters high, formed from glacial deposits. On the cliff, numerous springs, steep and bare walls, exposed slopes under erosion, and more or less stable grass and herb-covered or bush-covered slopes and valleys can be seen.


Further ahead, the route passes through Slots Allé. Consider taking a detour to the large castle bank and see the old dungeon at the top of the bank where Bishop Jacob Erlandsen was imprisoned in 1259. (Castle Alley is closed to through traffic by car out to Helnæsvej).

Continue through the magnificent castle complex with Hagenskov Castle from 1775 designed by architect Rosenberg. The castle is one of the country’s finest neoclassical buildings. To the left is the large farm complex with a riding arena in the middle.

By the alley to the main road lies the old smithy, set apart from the other buildings due to the risk of fire.

Turn right onto Prinsevej, named after Prince Frederick the Seventh, who was governor of Funen before he became king. He used Hagenskov as a summer residence and walked here on the roads with his Countess Danner.

Turn right onto Helnæsvej, past the timber-framed farm ”Flenstofte”, built in 1746.

Along the stretch towards the dam to Helnæs, you will pass Gl. Brydegaard and Sinatur Hotel Gl. Avernæs, where there are dining and/or overnight stay options.


Just after the dam out to Helnæs lies the Bobakkerne, resembling a giant rampart that in summer is clothed in a colourful blanket of flowers. There is a parking area and toilet on the right side of the road. Here starts a marked hiking trail about 1 ½ km long.

Helnæs, which totals 13 km² or 1312 hectares, is an incredibly fascinating peninsula to visit. With magnificent nature, an active cultural life, and an intriguing past, there is plenty to delve into and see.

People have lived on Helnæs since the Stone Age. Five burial mounds are prominently situated in the landscape on the hills south of Maden. Helnæs is first mentioned in 1231 in the form Hælghænæs, meaning ”holy headland”.

West of Helnæs town lies the meadow area of Maden with almost 300 hectares of meadows and fields, situated behind beach ridges facing the Little Belt. Here is a marked hiking trail.

Helnæs Lighthouse dates from 1901 and is 28 meters high.

There are several galleries on Helnæs. There is a small kiosk at Helnæs Camping and a restaurant at Helnæs Mølle (mill).